Department of Microbiology of Srinivasan College of Arts and Science has signed MoU with 5 industries, Dr. R Senthil, Director, Thai Biotech LTD, Trichy; Mr. R. Prakash, Plant Manager, Chakra milk, Perambalur; Dr, R. Senthil Kumar, Proprietor, Sri Amman Biocare Ltd, Thanjavur.; Dr. M Balaji, CEO, ABS, Geno informatics Institute, Chennai; Dr. S. Manikandan, Managing Partner, S.M. Biotech Industry, Kumbakonam. In order to promote industrial exposure and placements of the students. Shri. A. Srinivasan, Chancellor of Dhanalakshmi Srinivasan University presided over the ceremony. Dr. N. Vetrivelan, Principal of Srinivasan College of Arts and Science, felicitated the gathering. Dr. Ananth, HOD of Microbiology welcomed the gathering.

Prof. Dr. Aravind Deshmukh, All India president, Microbiologist Society India has emphasized that the recent developments in bioplastics from microbes and the requirements of probiotics. He has also added that the students, research scholars must start work together in all research aspects of microbiology and this students unit of Microbiologists society India will provide great platform to enhance and enrich the knowledge to come out with great deals to have bio making India.

Dr.S.Shanmugam, Microbiologists Society, State president, Dr. C Vadivalagan from Uzbekistan, Dr. S. Shahitha, Microbiologists Society State Coordinator were stamped their views on the crises in getting fuel and the alternative is microbial fuel. Guests also created awareness among the student participant about the importance of being an entrepreneur. They have also discussed about stem cells research in current scenario.

Advantages of setting students chapters:

  • MSI will support the college to receive grant from college to receive grant from funding agencies
  • Will help to arrange seminars, conferences, symposia and exhibition.
  • Will encourage and support research activities in microbiology.

Newsletter and magazine of Microbiology Department were also released by Dr. Shanmugam, State president of MSI and received by principal of college.

The Office bearers of department also installed formally in the occasion.

More than 200 students participated in the ceremony. R. Anitha M.Sc., Microbiology, MSI-Student unit President proposed vote of thanks.